Football Argentina: Primera División 2016

For all loyal fans of Argentine football out there, we are happy to announce that the football dry spell of January has officially come to an end. Starting last Friday, the 126th season of top-flight professional football is off and running in the Argentine Primera División (First Division) of 2016.

This year in Football Argentina there are thirty teams in the 2016 Primera, where twenty eight teams are returning from the previous tournament. Relegated Crucero Del Norte and Nueva Chicago are replaced by the newly promoted Patronato de Paraná and Atlético Tucumán. 

The thirthy teams have been divided into two groups of fifteen teams each. Every team will play all of the other teams in its own group once, and then play one team from the other group twiceThese inter-group games involving teams from the other group are the clásico rivals games (Boca Vs River, Independiente Vs Racing etc). The two teams that finish top of the two groups  face each other  in a one-off match set in a neutral venue on May 29th.

Want to know when your team plays? Here is this week’s schedule!

(Local time Argentina)

16/02/16   Huracán Aldosivi
16/02/16 20:00:00 CA Banfield Quilmes AC
16/02/16 22:15:00 Olimpo San Lorenzo
17/02/16 00:30:00 Argentinos Juniors Vélez Sársfield
17/02/16 20:00:00 Defensa y Justicia Atlético Rafaela
17/02/16 20:00:00 Newell’s Old Boys Racing Club
17/02/16 22:15:00 Patronato Arsenal Sarandí
17/02/16 22:15:00 Independiente Rosario Central
18/02/16 00:15:00 CA San Martín Boca Juniors
18/02/16 00:30:00 Sarmiento de Junín GyE La Plata
18/02/16 20:00:00 Estudiantes Tigre
18/02/16 22:00:00 CA Colón Belgrano Córdoba
18/02/16 22:00:00 CA Temperley CA Lanús
19/02/16 00:15:00 River Plate CD Godoy Cruz
19/02/16 00:15:00 Atlético Tucumán Unión de Santa Fe
4. Round
20/02/16 21:00:00 GyE La Plata Olimpo
20/02/16 21:00:00 San Lorenzo Vélez Sársfield
20/02/16 21:00:00 Boca Juniors Newell’s Old Boys
20/02/16 21:00:00 Argentinos Juniors Huracán
21/02/16   Quilmes AC Patronato
21/02/16   Arsenal Sarandí Sarmiento de Junín
21/02/16   Unión de Santa Fe CA San Martín
21/02/16   CA Lanús Atlético Tucumán
21/02/16   Atlético Rafaela CA Temperley
21/02/16   Aldosivi Estudiantes
21/02/16 21:00:00 Rosario Central River Plate
21/02/16 21:00:00 CD Godoy Cruz CA Colón
21/02/16 21:00:00 Belgrano Córdoba CA Banfield
21/02/16 21:00:00 Independiente Racing Club
21/02/16 21:00:00 Tigre Defensa y Justicia



Photo Credit: Juanedc

Photo Credit: Juanedc


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *